The Garden of Live Flowers

Instrumentation: flute, clarinet, cello, and piano

Duration: 14′

Program note:

This work is the second part of a cycle of chamber works loosely based on the sequential chapters of Lewis Carroll’s Through The Looking-Glass. Here the instruments have their own personalities that weave together in a dialogue that emulates the speaking flowers of chapter two of Carroll’s masterpiece. The personalities are constrained within the dynamic, timbral, and rhythmic ranges guiding the entire work, yet they each maintain their own characteristics, whether shimmering, wistful, or menacing.

SCORE (EXCERPT) – full score available below

Performance: June 2nd, 2016 New Music on the Bayou Festival, The Palace, Monroe, LA, Brian Dunbar – flute, Scot Humes – clarinet, Milovan Paz – cello, Steele Moegle – piano, Mel Mobley – conductor


score download/purchase

The Garden of Live Flowers – Score

Full score with parts and performance instructions


Please contact me for more information.

%d bloggers like this: