Abstractions I

Instrumentation: violin and piano

Duration: 14′

Program note:

Abstractions I is based on the second movement of Sonata XIV for Violin and Piano K481 by W.A. Mozart.

In this work, I desire to seek out connections between functional characteristics of the Mozartian sound world in which the music dwells and a more immediate, primitive quality of sounds as building blocks from which familiar musical rhetoric may (but not by necessity) develop. A vacillation between the familiar and unfamiliar takes place. It is an irregular process that may be viewed as a deconstruction of established connections into new components, new atmospheres of time and expectation. This piece is dedicated to Louella Alatiit.

performance by Louella Alatiit – violin and Yi-heng Yang – pianoforte


SCORE (EXCERPT) – download full score below

score download/purchase

Abstractions I – Score

Full score with parts and performance instructions


Please contact me for more information.

%d bloggers like this: